Shunning Wal-Mart–Not Boycotting Wal-Mart

December 14, 2008


Wal-Mart

Wal-Mart

I’m in the processing of  “shunning” Wal-Mart.  I’m not boycotting because boycotting means  I will someday return to Wal-Mart with arms open wide. Shunning is a religious experience. The closest I get to religion as I ever will again.  Shunning means the person or persons have sinned against the group as a whole and needs to be removed from the herd. Now shunning does not mean I don’t go into Wal-Mart when I have to. You know to buy something I can’t get elsewhere. I live in a city around 50,000 people so until recently variety was not the spice of life.  But the last five years things have opened up. I think Shunning is something  the Mormons have perfected and I know they shun people who aren’t like them. I don’t think that includes Wal-Mart.  Another thing, we just got a new Cost-co but I still call it Shopko. That really helps. I used to work for Wal-Mart and eventhough I quit three years ago,I occasionly shop there. Maybe ten times in three years. I knew lots of people who got fired for piss ant reasons.  I would see them in the store shopping.  I thought to myself “no way Jose”. They treat me like crap and fire me. I am not spending a dime there. “Girl Friend”. I was just thinking the other day if everyone who ever worked for Wal-Mart and was treated like crap stopped shopping there they would have to close the doors.  I don’t know how much money Wal-Mart made last year but most of it was off the backs of the ‘associates’.  Screwing over assoicates so they would quit so they could hire someone to replace them part time with not benefits and oh yeah, less pay.  Yes, Wal-Mart was once the shinning star of America. Now it’s just another money hungry company that doesn’t give a damn about anything but the bottom line.  I think we are slowly learning how cheap is cheap if you don’t have any money in your pocket.  How cheap is that $39 DVD player if you don’t have any money to eat.  How cheap is cheap when you don’t have a job and no one cares. You can do what you want. People often do. I’ve got out of the shopping for shopping sake business. I think the whole collapse of the Financial  market  was cause we spent all we had cause things were cheap. Not so cheap now, huh?  I love spending money as much as anyone but I have been paying attention to what I spend. I find that eventhough the prices at Wal-Mart are good. I spend way to much money on things I don’t need or really even want. I probably would spend a lot less on my total grocery bill if I went to a regular grocery store.  As far as the rest of the crap made in China you can get it anywhere for about the same price.  I quit buying stuff for my next garage sale. I can spot that stuff a mile off.  I don’t want Wal-Mart to go away but maybe just be the Wal-Mart that it once was.  Yeah, that’s going to happen.

Leave a Reply

