Buick Sedan

Buick Sedan

I guess we are all a little lost in a world of change. The Republicans have destroyed everything they have touched.  They have decided to let the Automobile Industry do down the tubes.  There shouldn’t be anything left of the old America by the time they leave office.  I guess the only thing we are going to have left is maybe our memories.  As a poor kid who grew up  in West Texas, like most, I had a dream of having a hot Chevy or a souped up Mercury or maybe just something with a steering wheel.  There was a used car dealership on main street right across from the train depot. The old man who ran it never locked the cars. On Sunday I would go set in the cars. The ones in the back so I wouldn’t be seen.  The lot was only a few blocks from the Gholston Hotel where my family lived.  I would set in front behind the steering wheel and dream dreams of things to come. Of a life different than the one I had. All the shiny buttons and controls. Some were like controls on a rocket ship. I would spend most of the day, setting in a Buick sedan. That’s mostly what was in the lot, four door sedans. In the winter, the heat of the black paint would warm the car to a toasty temperature. Warming  a persons body and soul.  I could be like Carey Grant or one of the great Movie Stars that rode around in nice shiny cars.  After a while, I would put my dreams aside and head back home.  See what my brothers and sisters were doing.  See if there was anything to eat for supper. I would look back a the big blacks monsters of the road. Knowing that one day I would own my own American car come hell or high water.